Tampa BayWatch – My Thoughts on the Bucs

Cadillac and Petitgout out for Season

leave a comment »

Sadly as I surmised Cadillac Williams will be placed on IR by the Bucs, however the kicker in the announcment from the Bucs is that Luke Petitgout will also be placed on IR. Both players suffered knee injuries in the 20-7-win over the Carolina Panthers. Petitgout’s injury at first seemed fairly innocuous but the damage to his knee must be quite severe.

It’s a real blow for the Bucs who were on a roll and would need all their star players to make a charge at the NFC South title. Earnest Graham and Michael Pittman will step in at RB and Donald Penn will step in at tackle with Anthony Davis providing cover.

“I came in at halftime and I just put my arms around him,” Pittman said of Williams. “I really didn’t say, ‘It’s going to be all right’ because it’s not all right, really. I know if I was in that situation, I don’t want nobody to tell me it’s going to be all right. But I think he’ll bounce back. He fought through his rib injuries and he’s going to fight through this.” ESPN.com

The key now for the Bucs is to move on and focus on Indianapolis, a game that would have been tough enough with a fully fit team, after losing 2 key offensive cornerstones it looks even tougher

“Obviously, we lost two key members of our football team for the season,” said Gruden. “That’s a big blow. They’re great guys. We have some people that need to step up now. We certainly support them and wish them the very best in their recovery. It’s a tough day that way, but we’re very happy with the win, and we’re also very excited about the challenge that awaits us this week versus Indianapolis.” Buccaneers.com

I wish Cadillac and Luke a speedy recovery and we hope to see them suit up next season.

Written by UK Bucs Fan

October 1, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

