Tampa BayWatch – My Thoughts on the Bucs

NFL in the UK

leave a comment »

Well I can’t be a UK based NFL blogger without offering some thoughts on the Giants Dolphins game on Sunday. There is a big NFL following here in the UK and it’s great to see a regular season game at Wembley. It’s a shame that the Dolphins are on such a bad run of form as it looks as though it could be a real one sided affair on Sunday. The Giants are on a roll after a 0-2 start and will be looking to inflict an 8th defeat on the Dolphins.

NFL in London

There has been great excitement amongst the NFL fans here in the UK and it would seem Europe too as if you believe the NFL hype they had over 500,000 ticket applications for the game. However there have been a number of “last minute” tickets make an appearance so it does appear that that figure could be very inflated. Everyone i know that wanted tickets has been able to get them with no problems.

The teams have been in England since the start of the week and have been involved in a number of promotional activities. We’ve seen tie ups with Premiership teams and a 30ft animatronic Jason Taylor.

The NFL have been out spreading the message of NFL and Channing Crowder decided that he’d help as well 🙂

“I couldn’t find London on a map if they didn’t have the names of the countries. I swear to God. I don’t know what nothing is. I know Italy looks like a boot. I learned that. I know London Fletcher. We did a football camp together. So I know him. That’s the closest thing I know to London. He’s black, so I’m sure he’s not from London. I’m sure that’s a coincidental name.”

And when told that Dolphins WR Marvin Allen was from London

“He’s from London?” He then went on to proclaim, “I don’t want to say he didn’t look the part because that’s a stereotype, but he didn’t look the part. I heard him talk, and I thought he had a recorder and was just mouthing.”

I’m hoping for a great game to really push the message of the NFL but it will always be a minority sport here in the UK. Football, Rugby and Cricket are too entrenched as the nations games.

Written by UK Bucs Fan

October 27, 2007 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

